World Spoofing Championships

spoofing as it is played - with 3 coins

2004 News

Kent brewer Shepherd Neame is to sponsor and host the 22nd World Spoofing Championships.

The Spitfire World Spoofing Championships will take place at the Faversham Brewery on 26th November - the eve of the England v Australia rugby international at Twickenham.

Current world champion Mr. Mike Chappell, landlord of the Horse & Groom at Rushlake Green, East Sussex, will defend the title he won in Sydney last November during the Rubgy World Cup against more than 100 gentleman spoofers from all over the world.

Shepherd Neame marketing director Mark McJennett sais, "The World Spoofing Championships is a prestigious event which dovetails perfectly with our other sporting sponsorships."

"It will be only the seventh time that they have been staged in Britain and we are looking forward to making the event an unforgettable experience for the colourful competitors that the sport attracts."

2003 Report

The 2003 World Championships were held on Friday 14 November at the Royal Automobile Club (RAC) in Sydney, the Friday prior to the WRC semi-finals.

The organising committee comprised Mr. Nick Poynton, Mr. Gary Gerstle, Mr. Kevin Schwass, Mr. Mark Ohlsson and Mr. Jon Bailey. Mr. Chris Lee, as defending WSC, was the honorary patron of the event. Englishman Mr Mike Chappell emerged victorious, congratulations.

2002 Report

Congratulations to Chris Lee, Heineken World Spoofing Champion 2002, making it a Kiwi hat-trick in the last 3 years! Overall the Kiwis have triumphed no less than 10 occasions, surely making NZ the competitive, if not spiritual, home of spoofing?

As reported by the Tasmanian Spoofing School, 2000 WSC Mr. Kevin Schwass writes:-

At about midnight on Friday 21st June at Eden Park, Auckland, New Zealand, Mr. Chris LEE, seconded – or should I say ably assisted – by Mr. Peter (Filth I) BROOKS, beat off 75 other spoofers representing 10 countries to become the 20th World Spoofing Champion. Mr. LEE tactically outmaneuvered Mr Guy (brother of John, WSC ’84) SARGENT in the final 4 – 1.

The betting syndicate headed by Mr David BENNETT (WSC ’89) who also seconded Mr SARGENT, unbelievably collected both the first and second pots of the $10,000 calcutta.

To assist with travel arrangements for prospective attendees, Mr LEE has already nominated Sydney as the venue for his 2003 defence on the eve of the Rugby World Cup semi-final – which was just as well as the RACA, the venue of the WSC 2001, had already been ‘booked’ some two months previously in anticipation.

There is always many a story and tale to be told associated with spoofing championships and this occasion was no exception. But as we all know, “What goes on tour, stays on tour.”

Championship Roll of Honour

Year Winner From Venue
1983 Mr. Murray Mexted New Zealand Wellington
1984 Mr. John Sargent New Zealand Johannesburg
1985 Mr. Tony Stuart New Zealand London
1986 Mr. Malcolm Robertson Scotland London
1987 Mr. Tim Cullen Australia Sydney
1988 Mr. Leslie Stokes Hong Kong Stanley
1989 Mr. David Bennett New Zealand Wanchai
1990 Mr. Murray Mexted New Zealand Bangkok!
1991 Mr. Gary Wilson Australia London
1992 Mr. Eric Siegloff Austria Brisbane
1993 Mr. Mike Banks New Zealand Wellington
1994 Mr. Andy Tomlinson New Zealand Wanchai
1995 Mr. Mike Sadler Scotland Johannesburg
1996 Mr. John Pilcher England Burgh Island
1997 Mr. P J Marriott England English Channel
1998 Mr. Jeremy Coulbeck UAE Dubai
1999 Mr. Patrick O'Flynn England London
2000 Mr. Kevin Schwass New Zealand Dublin
2001 Mr. Ant Salmon New Zealand Sydney
2002 Mr. Chris Lee New Zealand Auckland
2003 Mr. Mike Chappell England Sydney
Subscribe here! subscribe unsubscribe